Green Bean Powder Mask

Hey guys!

Today, I’ll be telling you one of my beauty secrets :3

Oooh, a secret!

Okay, okay, I’ll tell you now.

Let me tell you what I do whenever I get really bad breakouts. I don’t use skincare products during really bad breakouts except cleanser once in the morning and at night, like mosturisers and whatnot. Instead, I turn to natural methods to get rid of the acne!

To get rid of the dirty bacteria:

I use green bean powder, mixed in water, and apply it like a mask. I bought mine from an organic health food store which has barley and rice bits mixed in for added whitening properties that doubles as a scrub.

It is located near Bukit Batok MRT and goes by the name of ‘Vitality’. My mum bought this for me though, so I’m not sure of the exact location.You should be able to buy it in supermarkets though, as it is used in cooking. You don’t actually need the mixed version. The powder I used last time was purchased from NTUC.

DO NOT BUY ‘GREEN BEAN FLOUR’. It looks very similar. If you don’t see any green bean powder, it goes by an alternative name- mung bean powder, which is the same thing. It should look something like this.

I usually use lukewarm water because I’ve heard the effect is better (opening pores and all) but some people use cold water to reduce the inflammation and redness. If you really want to do that, I suggest you wrap ice in a thin towel and hold it to the inflamed areas (the towel is to prevent you from getting frostbite) after washing off the green bean mask.

This can double as a face scrub due to its texture or you can leave it on as a mask. It will harden and make your face feel tight. You can choose to either peel it off or wash it off.

Anyway, pour a bit of powder onto a small dish and add a bit of water. You should not get a watery mixture. It should look like a thick liquid (I will upload pictures soon)

If you peel it off you get the added bonus of getting rid of dead skin and blackheads on your nose (make sure you apply a suitably thick layer so you can peel it off).

However, if you have dry skin, or a really bad case of acne, it would be better to just wash it off to avoid damaging your skin. I would suggest using warm/lukewarm water to wash off this mask as it clings on well. Too well for my liking when I am in a hurry sometimes ._.

DO NOT USE YOUR NAILS TO TRY AND GET IT OFF!

Pat dry after washing your face and if you like, you can apply your preferred mosturiser or follow up with a honey and sugar mask! (I will write about this next time)

*************************************************************************************************

Loves: Reduces pores, blackheads, inflammation and swelling, removes dry skin and firms your face. Leaves face feeling smooth and soft

Hates: Hard to wash off at times

Rating: 9/10

Check out this post byViva Woman(click). Her mask tips are interesting!

 

3 thoughts on “Green Bean Powder Mask

    • Some powders have gone through an additional process of bleaching (like rice) for visual appeal. Or it might simply be a different variety. I’ve bought two different kinds so far, one was a paler green and the other was a deeper green with a yellowish tinge to it.
      I’m not an expert on these things so maybe you’d like to check the ingredients list, and the product claims, e.g. Is it 100% green bean (many flours mix in synthetic ones, so perhaps it might be the same for this).
      If you’re really wary you might want to pick one from a trusted brand or at an organic produce shop, but I see many people using all kinds of powders with similar effects, so perhaps you should give it a try- do a spot test first :)

Leave a Reply

