VOV Apple Nails in Blue, Green, Orange, Yellow

Hi guys!

I have a super long post for y’all today, chock-full of pictures because being a very irritable reader of numerous other beauty and makeup bloggers who don’t bother showing us how the product looks on their faces/ etc.

It really gets me when they just swatch the lipstick or blush on the back of their hand and expect us to know how it looks like in real life??

Seriously!

Anyway, I’ll be reviewing VOV Apple Nails which I purchased on the Qoo10 global site here (see the new link at the bottom of the post) for 1.40 SGD each. Such a steal right? Sadly, the shipping cost to Singapore is equivalent of two nail polishes :(((( and the moment you exceed 4 items, they DOUBLE your shipping fee. *@#!$!!

A shot of all the polishes~

And of the individual bottles!

And to see how the colours turn out when applied.. 

 So basically all of them look a tad bit darker in real life than in the bottle.

But when I look at the pictures now the difference doesn’t look that obvious. Hmm.

Maybe it’s a trick of the light when I look at it in real life, then.

 So I was lazy, and just painted over my green and yellow nails for this review 😛

I didn’t bother cleaning up the sides (sorry) because I have school tomorrow!!

Here is the photo taken off the site of all the colours.

The colours are really quite true to the picture.

 

 

Verdict

 

Application:

Generally quite easy to apply, but the first layer is extremely runny (especially for green and yellow) and you need at least three coats.

Yellow and green are brushstroke-prone i.e. you can see your brushstrokes so a smoothing top coat is a must for these two colours. Orange and blue gives me less trouble, possibly because they are darker in hue.

Consistency:

First layer is extremely runny, as mentioned above (especially for green and yellow) and you need at least three coats.

I’d advise you to apply a thicker layer at one go, to reduce the brushstroke problem. When I lifted the almost-dripping brush from the bottle and slapped the polish on the polish stayed really well and didn’t run off. It was done in seconds with no need for a second coat.

Colour:

I love green best, followed by… yellow, then blue, and my least favourite is orange because it is not as pastel as I had hoped (like how it looked in the bottle), though it’s still pretty… just a bit neon. I’m dreaming of doing tiger nails with it!

Green and yellow looks really pastel and I’m happy 🙂

I might get a lighter blue next time, but this is actually not bad.

Rating:

8.5/10 overall! I might have given a 9 if the colour for orange and blue were lighter and the consistency of yellow and green were better…

I think it’s really worth every penny though!

I mean, for 8.50 SGD I can only buy a bottle of China Glaze, or a bottle of O.P.I without the shipping charge of $1 😦 (OPI is impossible to get at 8.50 SGD awww)

I’m not sure if I should get the pink. But I’m looking for a really pretty, light pastel pink, and I don’t want it to turn out like the orange.

Purple just looks gross in the picture.

Maybe I should get the pink and the three nail care bottles (top coat, base coat, essence) just to expand my collection!

Did I mention how awfully cute the bottles are?? You can even see tree bark patterns!! SQUEAAAAAAL!!

*surrounded by tons of excited faces*

TRY IT OUT FOR YOURSELF FOLKS! 

The seller has stopped selling these nail polishes 😦 too bad! I’ll keep you guys posted if I can find a shop with similar prices. I’m quite sad because these are so bloody cheap!

I FOUND IT!!!!

HAHAHAHA. Go here for the new link. They’ve increased the price by 10 cents and the shipping by 10 cents… Seriously. Someone must’ve tipped them off!

 

Leave a Reply

