Sally Hansen Fuzzy Coat (All Yarned Up) and Sugar Coat (Sour Apple)

image

Bought these at a steal- only $6 SGD each! (Watsons sells both at $19.90)

I thought I’d be really really impressed by them both because I’ve heard so many raves online, especially about the fuzzy coat, but surprisingly it didn’t appeal to me as much as I thought they would.

All Yarned Up looks better on its own or over a nude colour for some reason.. I expected it to ‘pop’ nicely with a dark base but it wasn’t fantastic. I preferred it on its own. On a side note, this has got to be the most pungent nail polish I’ve had so far. When I opened the bottle I nearly choked up because I was so overwhelmed. I change my nail polish every week, so I’m pretty used to the smell already, but boy, this really takes the cake. 

Application was smooth and I did not need to go fishing because the bars are so dense, but getting them to distribute evenly is a bit of a chore as they tend to clump to one end and leave the sides kinda lacking. I think they would look better spaced out over a base but thicker if over a light base/ on its own.

~~~~

Sour Apple is exactly like a lumpier and more muted (less neon) ‘Highlight of my Summer’ by China Glaze, down to the chalky look. I swear they are colour dupes. I got Sour Apple hoping to chance the perfect mint green I was looking for, but was slightly disappointed again. I wanted something more green (I guess that’s technically not mint but a light green), but by all accounts this has been the most perfect mint so far.

Application was easy, took about 2-3 coats. Dried really fast and the texture started coming out only as it dried. It is pretty scratch-resistant, don’t add a top coat for this one or you’ll smooth out the lumps.

I’ve done a quick manicure featuring these two polishes (pardon my short nails, it was a school day) and Glittering Garland from China Glaze as a base for All Yarned Up as an accent nail. You’ll notice that the colour clashes a little but I couldn’t get All Yarned Up on its own, it wouldn’t show up as well using my lousy phone camera if so.

image

What do you think about these two polishes? 🙂

Yay or nay?

2 thoughts on “Sally Hansen Fuzzy Coat (All Yarned Up) and Sugar Coat (Sour Apple)

    • I got it from a seller on this mobile app called ‘Carousell’.
      It’s mostly based in Singapore, but maybe you can ask her if she does shipping if you aren’t from sg!
      Her username is ‘calest’

Leave a Reply

